haley

Lighting Breakdown Exercise

Recently I've been looking at stills from some of my favorite movies and trying to break down how the scenes were lit. To aid me in this process, I started painting spheres into the scenes. This exercise is extremely revealing. It helps me to understand where the lights are placed in the scene and what colors the lights are. Here are a few examples:

Inception

inception_sphere.thumb.jpg.7764748d5d348e1092f8c7154efd8ca4.jpg

Black Swan

blackSwan_sphere.thumb.jpg.2f125631130e3fdefe7ec28925efa4cd.jpg

La La Land

lalaland_sphere.thumb.jpg.c93b0a63c8eb00c0a9f9cf9da4d53b44.jpg

The Aviator

theaviator_sphere.thumb.jpg.38b713c8d8293282ea2993fc355d78e0.jpg

Unbroken

unbroken_sphere.thumb.jpg.ac034abbec80dc8433911f2ad793b359.jpg

That's such a cool idea!!!

Our good friend Mel is doing a painting course where she's learning to paint shading... I'm always so impressed with people who can paint real light & shadow!

I'd love to start learning how to better control lighting in 3d... because I *suck* at it!

• Like 1

@haley can you describe a little bit of your process as to how you set these up and your workflow? This looks like a super amazing exercise and I want to try it out! Lighting has always been one of the harder things for me to understand.

Sure, @Kathy McNeal! To start, I look for an object in the scene that's local color is white and sample the midtone of that object. That's what I use for the base of my sphere. In this case I'm sampling from the bathtub. I create a fresh layer and put a circle on that layer that is that midtone color. If I were to guess what color to start with, I probably would have selected something much brighter and the lighting of my sphere would have been incorrect.

1_sphereBase.jpg